Vocalist CHIO, from the currently on-hiatus band THE MUSMUS, has started working as a lyricist for the company “24chocolate” since January and recently provided lyrics for the mecha anime SSSS.Dynazenon.

With the album “SSSS.DYNAZENON Character Song. 1” receiving details of the release, we find CHIO’s name credited as the lyricist under the alias “Oni-chio” (鬼chio) for the song Kujiragumo—the character song for Chise Asukagawa! Not only that, but guitarist YOOKEY also appears on the same song credited as the composer.

It should however be noted that Kujiragumo is sung by the voice actress Chika Anzai who voices Chise Asukagawa. CHIO was only responsible for the lyrics.

In CHIO’s Instagram post, she made the reveal:

Since January this year, I’ve started working as a lyricist for the company “24chocolate”.

I’ve completed my first work since I started working there.

I’ve written the lyrics for the character song of “Chise Asukagawa” for the the anime “SSSS.Dynazenon” which has been on air since April 2. The title is “Kujiragumo”.

You can listen to the preview of Kujiragumo via the official Twitter account for SSSS.Dynazenon, or grab the full release later on July 21:

While it’s a bit saddening to not see any new activity from THE MUSMUS, we’re overjoyed to see their spirit live on in other areas—especially when it’s music-related!

About SSSS.Dynazenon

When Yomogi Asanaka, a first-year student at Fujiyokidai High School, meets Gauma, he claims to be a “kaiju user”. But the appearance of a kaiju followed by the entry of the gigantic robot, Dynazenon, backs up his mysterious words. And after Yume Minami, Koyomi Yamanaka, and Chise Asukagawa end up in the wrong place at the wrong time, they get dragged into the desperate fight against the kaiju!


Update 2021-06-26: CHIO’s credited name was initially directly translated to “Demon chio”, but has been updated to the romanized version “Oni-chio” for better accuracy.

  1. Beginning
  2. Stay Gold
  3. 夢現.GREEN DAYS
  4. 透明人間
  5. クジラ雲
  6. Beginning [Instrumental]
  7. Stay Gold [Instrumental]
  8. 夢現.GREEN DAYS [Instrumental]
  9. 透明人間 [Instrumental]
  10. クジラ雲 [Instrumental]
Twitter CHIO
Twitter YOOKEY
Twitter Kyoya
Twitter SHINGO
Twitter CHIO
Share your opinion!