JROCK NEWS is proud to be the first to give you a look at I Promised Once’s intense new music video Break! If you’re looking for a band with a breath of fresh air, I Promised Once may be exactly what you’re looking for. In an interesting mixture of rap and metalcore, and including a mixture of both German and Japanese members, I Promised Once seek to break genre barriers in more ways than one, and the result is their fresh mixture of nu-metal, electronic sounds, and metalcore in their new song, Break. The song is the title track for their upcoming first full album, Salvation, releasing on February 23 via Needful Things Records.

The song is a collaboration between the band and German-born rapper, Blumio, who recently launched his Japanese career after initiating his career in Germany. The song has strong lyrics that advocate towards standing up for your beliefs and desires, adding more intensity to the song. You can check out the new music video below.

Guitarist Nils commented on the new song, saying:

Break was one of the first songs we wrote for Salvation, together with Succubus! Since we did a lot of EDM influenced songs in the past, we wanted to widen our horizons and incorporate a different genre in our music. Also, we wanted to make it a collaboration with someone that fits our concept of “Borderless Metalcore”. Luckily, we knew just the right guy: Blumio. We first made the hip-hop beat/verse for Blumio, and then constructed the rest of the song around it with our signature riffing and a huge breakdown. The rhythm of the song goes a bit into nu-metal territory and is reminiscent of old classics like Limp Bizkit and Korn.

Lyrically, this song is standing up for yourself if people do not accept you who you are. There will be always be people talking behind your back who will try to put you down and will try to stop you from achieving your dreams. But those people have no power over what destiny you are creating for yourself, so give them the middle finger and keep going your own way!

I Promised Once was formed in 2014 with vocalist George, vocalist and keyboardist Flo, guitarists Nils and Kunio, and bassist and manipulator Joe. They only have a handful of release so far, so it should not be hard to catch up with their music! Their blend of electronics and metalcore are sure to grasp the hearts of new fans along the way. Give I Promised Once a chance, and we’re sure you won’t regret it!



  1. Succubus (ft. SHREZZERS)
  2. Picture Perfect
  3. Forever Lost
  4. Homecoming
  5. Departed
  6. The Invasion
  7. Fall of Adam 1863
  8. Chaos is a Ladder
  9. Break (ft. Blumio)
  10. Lucifer
  11. Salvation

Buy at MerchBucket

More info:
Official Website

Give us your opinion!

About The Author


♪ Staring at the bottom of heaven is all I can do ♪

Related Posts