Metal samurais RYUJIN, formerly known as GYZE, puts out Gekokujo, their “heaviest single yet“, as exclaimed by the band. With the single unleashed on December 7, it serves as a precursor to the full picture—a self-titled album set to be unveiled on January 12, 2024.

The song Gekokujo does indeed stand out as a heavy hitter, and the band is not shy about it. The track features an explosive intro that sets the stage for ferocious guitar riffs and demonic vocals. Despite drawing inspiration from Japanese folk metal, RYUJIN skillfully integrates their signature Nordic sound into the composition.

Vocalist Ryoji Shinomoto gives his perspective on the song:

In Japanese history, gekokujo refers to the act of a lower-ranking person politically or militarily overthrowing a higher-ranking person, violating the social order, and seizing power.

I would say the song is Japanese horror folk metal.

The music video also depicts Japan’s unique horror.

Enjoy the dark side of Ryujin too!

RYUJIN - Gekokujo (Official Video) | Napalm Records

In addition to the song Gekokujo, two other gems from the album have previously been made available, including “Raijin & Fujin” and “The Rainbow Song“. Both of these works features Matthew Kiichi Heafy who is the frontman of the praised American metal band, Trivium.

Heafy’s contribution is not only limited as a featured artist, it extends into the artistic journey of RYUJIN—the rebirth of GYZE. Beyond providing his skillful guitars, Heafy, who is of Japanese descent himself, manages and mentors the band, and works on the production side.

From a collaboration that was born out of mutual respect between the members and Heafy, it will be interesting to see what will come out of the band’s full debut work under the new name, “RYUJIN”.

Subscribe to new comments
Email notify on
Inline feedbacks
View all comments
  1. Hajimari
  2. Gekokujo
  3. Dragon, Fly Free
  4. Raijin & Fujin (feat. Matthew K. Heafy)
  5. The Rainbow Song (feat. Matthew K. Heafy)
  6. Kunnecup (feat. Mukai Wataru)
  7. Scream of the Dragon
  8. Gekirin
  9. Saigo No Hoshi
  10. Ryujin
  11. Guren No Yumiya
  12. Saigo No Hoshi (feat. Matthew K. Heafy) (Single Edit)